I just found this out from an ESPN alert but it is not up on the website yet, but it is being reported that a group of 11 UNC Football players received 395 parking citations totaling about $13,185 from 3/07 to 8/10 by this ACC Blog. I can’t really believe this is happening two years in a row, but it sounds like UNC is going to have NCAA investigators sniffing around and leveling sanctions and suspensions against my favorite team for a second year in a row. Hopefully most of the players involved in this group of 11 players have graduated or moved on to the NFL, but I don’t know if my luck is good enough for that to be the case. This is obviously just being reported, so I’m sure I’ll be shaking my head frequently as more details come out about this. I can’t imagine how a group of individuals would go about getting that many tickets, but apparently it is possible. I’m hoping for the best, but it’s not looking good for UNC again this year. Let’s hope we can persevere again.

I also want to give my thoughts on Terrelle Pryor. I have not been very hard on him in the past, but it is pretty clear he has some off-field character concerns and the impression I have gotten from everyone I have heard and talked to is that he is fairly arrogant. Obviously I don’t know him and I have never talked to him, but that is the impression I have gotten. I don’t think there is any way he will get selected in the 1st round of the NFL Supplemental Draft should it actually occur, and I’m even more sure that he will never develop into a “great NFL Quarterback” like his agent Drew Rosenhaus proclaimed he will. He survived largely on his athleticism in college and did not progress nearly enough as a passer during his three years as a starter at Ohio State as he would have needed to to be picked in the first three rounds strictly as a Quarterback. He has potential because of his intriguing size and athleticism, but his arm strength and accuracy is nothing special and his mechanics need significant development still. Obviously he can work and improve on all of this, but his college statistics and winning percentage won’t mean much in the NFL, especially because his athleticism won’t get him nearly as far in the NFL as it did in college. I think he could be a Wildcat quarterback in the right scheme, but I am willing to say that he will never be a quality NFL starter in the NFL without incredible improvement as an overall passer, and I don’t think that will ever happen. If he was drafted before the 4th round in the Supplemental Draft I would be quite surprised. However, if he runs a fast enough 40 at a workout maybe the Raiders will waste a 3rd rounder on him.

I’ll post my thoughts on these stories and others throughout the summer, so keep an eye out for those and for more rankings and pre-season scouting reports in the coming days, weeks and months! Thanks for reading!

–Tom