1- Orson Charles, TE, Georgia
Analysis: Charles is definitely my favorite TE in the country. It definitely isn’t a certainty that he will be in the 2012 Draft, but if he is then I wouldn’t be afraid to project him as a potential 1st rounder even though it is June. He was incredibly impressive to me when I watched them last year, and I am very eager to see if he and the rest of the offense step up to replace the nearly irreplacable A.J. Green this season. He and Aaron Murray have great chemistry together and they are really fun to watch.
2- Michael Egnew, TE, Missouri
Analysis: I definitely thought Egnew was going into his junior season but I was wrong, he will be a senior this year. Egnew really impressed me when I was watching Blaine Gabbert this past season and while his numbers may drop a bit from having a new QB I would be very surprised if he didn’t end up coming off the board first of all the Senior TE’s even though it is early. He is very talented and has fantastic hands and can make catches in traffic. He has work to do as a blocker, but he is a great receiving TE.
3- Ladarius Green, TE, Louisiana Lafayette
Analysis: I haven’t seen Green play much at all but I was impressed by his stat line and what I read about him. I am definitely going to try to track down whatever footage I can of him, and I am really looking forward to seeing him play at length next year.
4- David Paulson, TE, Oregon
Analysis: Paulson is overlooked on Oregon’s high powered offense but as Darron Thomas progresses I think he will get more exposure. I am looking forward to seeing him play more this season as I didn’t give him much of a look last year because I didn’t expect him to declare early. Now he will be a Senior and with Thomas playing with more experience under his belt I think Paulson could see more targets this year.
5- Coby Fleener, TE, Stanford
Analysis: Fleener had seven touchdowns last year as a Junior and figures to be targeted consistently by Andrew Luck again this year. It will be interesting to see how he progresses as a senior, and I’m excited to see how good his hands are and how effectively he blocks.
6- George Bryan, TE, North Carolina State
Analysis: Bryan had solid numbers last year as a junior but without Russell Wilson his numbers might decline. It will be interesting to see how Wilson’s departure affects Bryan’s numbers, but hopefully he is targeted more this year. I really want to see how well he can stretch the field, catch the ball away from his body and block in the run game.
7- Brad Herman, TE, Iowa
Analysis: Herman showed potential at the beginning of last year but I’m not really sure what happened after that. He only had 9 catches on the season, but Iowa has a good track record of churning out quality TE’s so I think Herman could surprise some people this year. It will be interesting to see if he proves me right.
8- Kevin Koger, TE, Michigan
Analysis: Koger didn’t have a very good year last year but I expect him to get more involved in the offense from a passing standpoint this season. He’s another Big-10 sleeper at this position that could surprise some people. He has the ability and he flashed production last year, he just has to get the ball more consistently this year. Hopefully Denard Robinson can make that happen.
9- Colter Phillips, TE, Virginia
Analysis: Phillips is another sleeper, of which there are apparently many on this version of my TE rankings, and I think that while Virginia’s team won’t be anything special that with another year of experience for their QB and Colter they should be able to improve on his statistics from the year before. I haven’t seen him play much at all, but I am excited to get to see him play next year.
10- Blake Ayles, TE, Miami
Analysis: I just found this out yesterday, but Ayles transferred from Southern Cal to Miami without having to sit out a year because of the sanctions on the program, and somehow that slipped under my radar. Regardless, Ayles is on the Hurricanes now and while injuries and inconsistency hampered his career with the Trojans I think that a fresh start on a very talented Hurricane team could be just what the doctor ordered for Ayles. He is very athletic and has potential, and I was literally thinking to myself earlier this offseason that Miami’s offense is a QB and a TE away from being incredibly dangerous, and Ayles may be the man to fill that void at TE. If Morris steps up and improves as a starter then he could be dishing the ball out to a very talented group of receivers including LaRon Byrd, Travis Benjamin and Ayles plus handing the ball off to Lamar Miller. What a scary offense that could be.

Hopefully you enjoyed my TE rankings. They are obviously a work in progress, but as I continue to churn out rankings I am just getting that much closer to being able to start watching some film on upcoming prospects. That’s something I didn’t get to do much of last summer, so I am really excited to get started on that. But I want to finish these rankings first! Hopefully I will get to OT’s in the next 24 hours or so. Thanks for reading!

–Tom