1- Matt Kalil, OT, Southern Cal
Analysis: Kalil was so secure at left tackle for Southern Cal that Tyron Smith, an athletic freak for the tackle position, was relegated to the RT position for the Trojans. I haven’t scouted Kalil specifically, but my expectations for him are quite high because of how strong his hold on that position was when Smith was there. I look forward to seeing him play at length this season.
2- Riley Reiff, OT, Iowa
Analysis: Reiff was a guy that I thought was a dark-horse to declare this season even though he was a redshirt sophomore, but I think coming back to school was probably a good decision. He will have another year of starting experience under his belt and if he declares after a good junior season there is no reason he couldn’t go in the top 15 in the draft.
3- Jonathan Martin, OT, Stanford
Analysis: Martin definitely got some of the spotlight that was drawn from the media by Andrew Luck this past year, but I am not positive he is a LT in the NFL as of now so I couldn’t rate him over Kalil and Reiff who I am positive are NFL LT’s. I am looking forward to watching him this season to evaluate whether I think he is for sure a RT or potentially a LT.
4- Andrew Datko, OT, Florida State
Analysis: Datko might be a bit underrated at this point, but from what I know of him he is pretty athletic and I think that he should be a NFL LT. I haven’t watched him enough to say that for sure, but I think he could surprise some people. It will be interesting to see how he does protecting Manuel’s blind side this season, but I think he will impress this year.
5- Levy Adcock, OT, Oklahoma State
Analysis: Adcock is fairly unknown but I have a feeling he will catch some eyes this year when people are focusing on Weeden and Blackmon on their offensive unit. I haven’t seen much of him yet so I don’t know if he is a LT in the NFL or not yet, but I am looking forward to finding out over the course of the year.
6- Elvis Fisher, OT, Missouri
Analysis: Fisher might not get as much attention this year as he may have had Gabbert stayed and been considered an elite QB prospect as a Senior, but I think he warrants consideration as a LT in the NFL. I definitely haven’t scouted him specifically yet but I will be watching more of my Missouri tape later this summer and that should give me a better handle on him as a prospect before this season.
7- Tanner Hawkinson, OT, Kansas
Analysis: Hawkinson may be the best prospect on the Jayhawks at this point as he has started at LT since he was a freshman and is now a junior this season. He should have at least three years of starting experience by the time he declares for the draft, but there is no guarantee that he will come out after this year because he isn’t considered one of the top OT’s in the draft… yet. I am excited to watch the Kansas tape I have to see how he looks. I have been told he is a good guy and is pretty smart, so it’s hard for me not to like him as a potential sleeper.
8- Matt McCants, OT, UAB
Analysis: McCants has a lot of upside but struggled with academics earlier in his career after starting at LT as a freshman. He seems to have gotten himself back on track and from what I have read he seems to have learned from his experience, and I hope he has because it’s important to learn from mistakes you make in your life (especially of that magnitude, he had a 1.7 gpa and if he didn’t get it up to 2.0 he was going to be kicked out of the school besides already being ineligible for the football team). I haven’t seen him play, but I am going to work hard to get a look at him this year.
9- Nate Potter, OT, Boise State
Analysis: Potter is rated pretty high but I have never been very impressed with him and I am not sold on him as a LT in the NFL by any means. I think he might even have to move inside to guard, but that was just my initial impression. However, I definitely can’t rank him as a top five offensive tackle if I think he might be sliding inside. I will definitely keep an eye on him this year though because Boise State will have some talent I need to keep an eye on.
10- Mike Adams, OT, Ohio State
Analysis: Adams almost fell out of my top 10 and he might not be drafted as high as some expect him to because of the fallout of the Ohio State scandal going on right now. He is suspended for the first five games of the upcoming season and I am not convinced that he is a LT in the NFL, I think he is a RT at this point. If that is the case, he will have to fight an uphill battle to crack the 1st or 2nd round considering the suspension and the negative buzz around both him and his program that will be present this season. His character will come into question, but even as a player I am not sold on him being a top 50 pick at this point, but I need to watch more of him obviously.

Hopefully you enjoyed my Early 2012 Offensive Tackle Rankings. I am churning out the content now right? I’ll finish the offensive line in the next day or two and then get to defense which I am excited about. Thanks for reading!

–Tom