1- Justin Blackmon, WR, Oklahoma State
Analysis: A lot of people might have Jeffrey here, but Blackmon is the most dominant receiver in the country in my opinion. I can’t wait to see him play this season because I was blown away by his performance all season long last year. If he has a season in the same zip code as his off the charts performance a year ago then he should be a lock for the top 10 unless he murders Commissioner Goodell on live television.
2- Alshon Jeffrey, WR, South Carolina
Analysis: Jeffrey is a very physically imposing receiver and he is the definition of a possession receiver. His size alone is enough to get him to the NFL along with his terrific hands. He attacks jump balls and uses his body very well to shield smaller defenders from the ball. He has been the go-to guy for the Gamecocks since he arrived on campus and for good reason, and hopefully this year he will have some consistent QB play so he can really shine.
3- Mohamed Sanu, WR, Rutgers
Analysis: Sanu might be the most versatile player in the country and that gives him incredible value in my eyes. If you haven’t seen him play you really should make an effort to watch him. He had 44 catches, 418 yards and 2 TD’s receiving, 309 yards and 4 TD’s rushing (5.24 ypc average), he was 6/9 for 160 yards and 3 TD’s passing, and he even recorded an interception on the season somehow (don’t ask me how he did it, I don’t know). Now that Randall Cobb has moved on to the NFL I think Sanu is hands down the most versatile player in the nation at this level, and that will intrigue a lot of talent evaluators as the season progresses.
4- Jeff Fuller, WR, Texas A&M
Analysis: Fuller shocked me with his performance against Patrick Peterson in the bowl game. He routinely worked him on come-backs and underneath passes and had over 100 yards against him while being matched up with him quite often from what I remember. Fuller is an imposing receiver because of his size and leaping ability, plus he has great hands. He will be a very dangerous red zone threat in the NFL, and he strikes me as a very effective possession receiver.
5- Ryan Broyles, WR, Oklahoma
Analysis: Broyles could be higher on this list if I was not as worried about his hands as I am currently. He is very productive for Oklahoma but he body catches more than I might like, but he has the potential to be one of the best slot receivers in this entire class. I really like watching him play, I just want to see him catch the ball better away from his body more consistently this season.
6- Juron Criner, WR, Arizona
Analysis: I am high on Criner and I love his potential as a possession/red zone receiver. He has good size and leaping ability and really attacks the ball in the air and from what I have seen he has good hands. I am really looking forward to watching him more this season. I actually like him much better than I like Nick Foles, the guy throwing Criner the ball.
7- Greg Childs, WR, Arkansas
Analysis: Childs wasn’t healthy for the entire season last year so his numbers were down, but I think a strong senior campaign can help improve his draft stock again. He’s not a flashy guy and he won’t fly by you on a streak pattern very often, but he has long arms, good leaping ability and reliable hands, plus he makes plays when you need them from what I have seen and for those of you who read my blog consistently you know that I value that quite a bit when evaluating prospects.
8- Dwight Jones, WR, North Carolina
Analysis: Jones had a very impressive sophomore campaign last year and while Yates is gone I am hoping that he will still play well this year as a junior. I’m not sure if he will end up declaring or not, but if he has another year like he did last year in spite of Yates leaving I could see it happening. He has a great combination of size and speed and is a very legitimate deep threat, I just need to watch him as a talent evaluator, not as a North Carolina fan (which I am) because I don’t want to overrate him because I have seen him play enough. I also am not always paying attention to how good his hands are, etc. when I am watching the Heels for fun.
9- Marquis Maze, WR, Alabama
Analysis: Maze has made some impressive catches for ‘Bama in the time that I have watched him and I love his potential in the slot, so I put him in my top 10 even though I may be in the minority in thinking he is one of the top 10 receivers in the country at this point. He has shown me enough when catching the ball away from his body when I have seen him to have confidence in him even with McElroy, Ingram and Julio leaving. I don’t know if he will blow up for a 60+ catch, 1,000 yard, 8+ TD season, but I expect him to blow his numbers out of the water from last season.
10- Michael Floyd, WR, Notre Dame
Analysis: Floyd has a lot of ability and he attacks the ball in the air which I love, but he does not run good routes and is definitely not a burner. I have also heard that he is very much a prima donna and doesn’t have a very good attitude, and that makes me question his ability to improve when he gets to the NFL. He has the talent, I’ve known that since he terrorized Minnesota high schools back in the day, but if the rumors I’ve heard about his attitude and mindset are true then he is going to scare off a lot of teams between that and his off-field issues this past offseason.

There is plenty of talent that I left out, but I like the guys I have in this top 10 for the most part. Michael Floyd almost fell out of my top 10 but I think he has a good shot to go in the first three or four rounds if he is able to play for Notre Dame this season. If he doesn’t then he is going to drop like a rock on my rankings to be sure. Guys like Cobi Hamilton, Jheranie Boyd, Tavarres King and Russell Shephard all have the potential to be in the top 10 mix, as does Jarrett Boykin, but I would like to see more out of them before I put them in my top 10 rankings. Some might be surprised at how high I have Marquis Maze but he impressed me last year playing in Julio’s shadow and made some impressive catches with his hands, not up against his body. I really like his potential as a slot receiver in the NFL for that reason.

Hopefully you enjoyed my early 2012 WR rankings! My TE and OT rankings will be up later this week, so look out for those. Thanks for reading as I try to start churning out content a little more consistently!

–Tom