Hey everyone, I am really sorry that I haven’t posted anything in almost a month now. Shortly after I got home from College (early/mid May) my computer got destroyed by viruses and I lost everything on my hard drive and just had to get it wiped. But it took about two weeks for it to get fixed and brought back to me (I got it back yesterday) so I am just now getting done with all the installations/updates and everything you have to do after your computer gets wiped. And for all of you who don’t have a back-up on your computer, you should get one. I really wish I would have backed up all of my files and what-not now because if I had I would have had a great sleeper post I could put up today, but now I will have to start over from scratch. I’ll get to work on putting that back together, but until then hopefully these early QB rankings will suffice. I’ll try to get a top 10 rankings list for all the positions over the next couple of weeks, though I will be starting an internship next monday so it might take some time to work all the way through them. Anyways, thanks for your patience with me and I really have missed blogging the last couple weeks. I’m glad I can finally start again.

QB Rankings:

1- Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford
Analysis: Luck has to be the early favorite to be the top QB off the board in the 2012 draft but being the top QB before the season starts almost seems to be a jinx at this point. It will be interesting to see how Luck handles all the pressure this year as the expectations for him personally as well as Stanford will be at all-time highs.
2- Matt Barkley, QB, Southern Cal
Analysis: I have been high on Barkley since before he even had the starting job at USC and I have been watching him carefully ever since. This is a huge year for him and most people are expecting him to take a big step forward this season. He has the arm strength, the accuracy, the poise and the intelligence to be a very good quarterback. He just has to use all he has learned the past two seasons to put it all together this year. I am very excited to see how he does.
3- Ryan Lindley, QB, San Diego State
Analysis: Lindley caught my eye late last year and seems to be getting a lot of buzz leading into next season. I know Jon Gruden has mentioned him as a guy to look out for, which probably resulted in a lot of people scrambling to figure out who he is, but he is a very talented QB with a very strong arm. I look forward to seeing him play more next year. Right now he is my top ranked Senior QB.
4- Landry Jones, QB, Oklahoma
Analysis: Landry Jones is someone that I have had every reason to doubt since he took over for Sam Bradford after his injury and ever since then. He plays in the same offense, makes the same reads and has put up some gaudy numbers just like Bradford did. But the more I watch him and try to critique him the harder I find it to grade him down on the way he plays. He’s a very good college quarterback, and I look forward to spending the rest of this year figuring out if I think he has the stuff to be good in the NFL. I really think he might though.
5- Kirk Cousins, QB, Michigan State
Analysis: I have been high on Cousins for about two years also, back when he was splitting time at QB with Keith Nichol as a sophomore. I think he has good arm strength, accuracy and impressive poise for a QB. I think that this could be his year to really emerge on the national stage if Michigan State can have another good season, and I’d like to see him really take control of his team this year.
6- Ryan Tannehill, QB, Texas A&M
Analysis: Tannehill was incredibly impressive to me in the bowl game against LSU which was the first time I had ever seen him play extensively. For converting to QB so recently I was blown away by how good his mechanics and footwork were, and in contrast to Jerrod Johnson he looked like Joe Montana dropping back to pass. That said, he will have to do it all again this year but as of right now he is my #3 ranked Senior QB based off of what I was able to see after he replaced Jerrod Johnson. I was incredibly impressed with what he did last year, but now he has to do it for an entire season and still play consistent ball. I hope he is able to do just that.
7- Nick Foles, QB, Arizona
Analysis: Foles it a tricky guy for me to evaluate. I like his arm strength, his size and he has some mobility, plus he has shown up late in games, but he just isn’t very consistent (or at least it seemed that way to me). I am looking for more consistency this year, but I am not sold on Foles yet. Some have him as a 1st rounder next year, but I am just not so sure. I am definitely going to be watching him closely next year though.
8- Tyler Wilson, QB, Arkansas
Analysis: Wilson’s performance against Auburn definitely captured everyone’s attention but it especially impressed me because he really gave his team a chance to win even though no one thought they would have a chance in hell without Mallett. Well I think Arkansas is really ready to surprise this year because Wilson will have Knile Davis and possibly the best/most experienced group of wide receivers to throw to in the entire country this year. Greg Childs, Joe Adams, Jarius Wright, and Cobi Hamilton. There is going to be a ton of talent on that offense, and if Wilson can step in and sling it like he did against Auburn consistently (perhaps with fewer turnovers) then Arkansas’ offense could be just as explosive as it was last year.
9- B.J. Coleman, QB, Chattanooga
Analysis: Coleman has been flying under the radar for a long time. He is a transfer from Tennessee and has been starting for the past two seasons and is closing in on a number of records for UTC (University of Tennessee at Chattanooga). He has a strong arm and impressive size, and while I have not seen him play he seems very likely to be one of the best small school prospects in the 2012 class, or at least of this QB class. I regret putting Jordan Jefferson here in my original rankings, but I was swayed by his performance in their spring game. Hopefully Coleman proves more worthy of this spot.
10- Geno Smith, QB, West Virginia
Analysis: Smith is being mentioned as a possible Heisman contender and I think that he has a shot at going after that, but just because you are a Heisman contender doesn’t mean you are the best fit for the next level. Smith has ability, but I want to see more zip on his passes this season and I want to see how he does without defenses keying on other parts of their offense, namely Noel Devine in the backfield. The pressure will be on him to lead the team in my estimation, so I am interested to see how he does with more defensive attention and higher expectations.

Hopefully that was an interesting read, and again I apologize that it has taken me so long to get anything up. Thanks for reading and look out for more posts in the near future!

–Tom