Scouting Report:

Jernigan has game-breaking ability as a receiver and I think he will be a very good slot receiver in the NFL.

Positives: Jernigan has great speed and burst. He has very good change of direction speed and is a big YAC threat because of his speed. He has game-breaking ability to gain yardage and can take any play the distance because of his speed, vision and ability to run through arm tackles. He might be small but he is very strong for his size and can run through arm tackles well. He has very impressive leg drive and doesn’t go down easily. Has reliable hands and has the quickness and change of direction speed to be a very good route runner and YAC man in the NFL.

Negatives: Jernigan’s size will hurt him in the NFL and it will make it hard for him to make catches in traffic against bigger defensive backs. I haven’t really ever seen him block and I don’t think he has much experience doing so, and his size will hinder him in that respect also. May have durability concerns because of his size, and may be forced to remain in the slot because he doesn’t project well as an outside receiver.

Overall: Jernigan has game-breaking ability as a receiver, runner and return man and I think he will be a very dangerous slot receiver in the NFL. Maybe he won’t be a pro-bowler, but if you need a guy who can stretch a defense, make guys miss in the open field and get a lot of yards after the catch Jernigan is your man. He may not be a great red zone threat or a dominant outside receiver, but I think he will be very effective in the slot in the NFL and in the right offense I think he could contend for offensive rookie of the year.

Projection: 2nd round. He could go early in the 2nd and he could go late, but I think he will end up in round 2. I think he would be a great value if he made it out of the top 45-50 picks because I really think he will be an effective NFL receiver from the get-go and I have always been impressed with him when I have seen him play.

SKILLS
1-poor, 2-weak, 3-above average, 4-very good, 5-elite

Speed: 4.5
Hands: 3.5
After Catch: 4.0
Body Control: 3.5
Range: 3.5

Thanks for reading!

–Tom