Scouting Report:

Burke may not have a lot of playing experience, but I think I saw enough from him that I think he can stick in the NFL as a back-up.

Positives: Has solid size, arm strength and accuracy and displayed this in limited time this season when Adam Froman was not in the line-up. He also displayed pretty good mobility to extend plays and occasionally pick up yardage with his legs. In the games I saw him in he started slow but improved over the course of the game, and I think he could stand to get more experience obviously. His mechanics are solid as is his footwork and he played in an offense with some pro-style ties at Louisville, and the offense has a strong focus on the running game because of Bilal Powell’s emergence. In the small sample of time that I got to see him I was impressed, especially since I expected to see Froman in Louisville’s bowl game and instead Burke was the starter.

Negatives: He definitely doesn’t have a lot of starting experience and the tape that he has accumulated isn’t very substantial, I didn’t have a lot of chances to watch him because Froman was the starter and he only filled in for him some this season. He doesn’t have any elite tools and obviously wasn’t good enough in the eyes of the coaching staff to be the starter outright at the beginning of the year, so I was kind of surprised to see how well he played considering the circumstances. He doesn’t have a very high ceiling despite his lack of experience, so his limited experience doesn’t make him a very intriguing talent in spite of the detriment it has on a player’s draft stock.

Overall: I think Burke has the potential to be picked very late or signed as an undrafted free agent where he would compete to be a practice squad player and perhaps a #3 eventually. He’s a bit raw because of his limited experience but I think with coaching he could stick on a NFL roster, I saw enough from him in the limited snaps I was able to watch him in. I was particularly impressed with how he played in the bowl game, especially because I don’t think he was projected to be the starter. At least I wasn’t aware that he was going to play. So theoretically he played on late notice and still played well, and that indicates some mental toughness if that is the case. I just have a feeling that he will be able to stick in the NFL as a back-up. Maybe I’m wrong, and I don’t think he will be a starter, but that is what my gut is telling me. So hopefully he gets his shot.

Projection: 7th round/Undrafted. I would consider him late in the draft in the 7th round range but I would not be surprised if he went undrafted, especially because he is about as under the radar as you can be at a school in a major conference.

SKILLS
1-poor, 2-weak, 3-above average, 4-very good, 5-elite

Arm Strength: 3.0
Accuracy: 3.0
Mobility: 3.0
Decision Making: 2.5
Mechanics: 3.0
Pocket Awareness: 2.5
Intangibles: 3.0

Thanks for reading!

–Tom