Here is an interview I conducted with Justin Griffith, a former Falcon fullback, at the East-West Shrine Game way back in January. I’ve been swamped so I haven’t gotten to all of the interviews yet, but this is one that I do have done. Enjoy!

Griffith was always one of my favorite Falcons so it was great to get a chance to meet and interview him.

Tom: What has it been like coaching instead of playing?

Justin: It’s been fun man, I played for 8 years and the things I have learned over those 8 years I have been able to relate those things back on the field. Coaching these guys, trying to put these guys into a position like someone else put me into position.

Tom: What is your favorite memory from playing in Atlanta?

Justin: My favorite memory is probably going to the NFC championship game. We had a great year that year, first round bye, guys were ready to play like a family in the locker room. You never forget stuff like that, it’s pretty much the locker room that stays with you that whole time.

Tom: Do you still talk to the players or coaches that were on the teams you played on?

Justin: Oh yes. I talk to several coaches on that team, I ended up staying my whole career with one of those coaches from that team. I also keep in touch with teammates. Once you form those relationships in the locker room you never forget those guys and they never forget you. You always have those memories.

Tom: Who has stuck out to you out of the players you have been coaching this week?

Justin: You know, I like all my guys. But I really like my fullback Patrick (DiMarco). He’s a good pass protector, I like what he does catching the ball, and hopefully he will go out on Saturday and do those things again. He’s a good football player.

Tom: How did you end up coming here for the East-West Shrine Game?

Justin: I ended up coming here because the GM in Atlanta when I was drafted ended up calling me and asking me if I wanted to coach in the East-West game. He knew that I wanted to get into some coaching and he told me that this would be a good way to start so I have gotten started just like that.

Tom: What have you been doing since you left the Falcons?

Justin: I played for some different teams, I also got married and I have a little boy now. Things have been good and I can’t complain about anything.

Tom: Sounds like you have been looking to get into coaching, how is that going?

Justin: It’s going good, coming down here was big for me, coming down here and coaching for these guys. Hopefully I can make some contacts, get in touch with somebody and get on somebody’s coaching staff.

Tom: What is one thing you’d like the world to know about you that they might not already know?

Justin: I don’t know… that’s a hard question. I am a family man. I am a family oriented guy. I love my wife, I love my son and they mean the world to me.

Thanks again for the interview Justin, and good luck with your coaching career!

–Tom