Hey guys. Here are my notes from the West practice today. Unfortunately I couldn’t stay for the entire thing, but I left while they were just breaking a huddle after a lot of 7 on 7 work. There was some team stuff to start off the practice, so I have notes on some defensive players, but I am lacking on defensive players and on offensive linemen. I will do better tomorrow! Anyways, enjoy mostly offensive notes.

West Practice Notes Day 1:

Quarterbacks:

Nathan Enderle, QB, Idaho:

Enderle had an up and down day. His footwork looked solid, he has a fluid throwing motion, he has the best arm of any of the three QB’s, especially as far as zip is concerned. He struggled with ball placement on a long ball and some other throws as well. Not necessarily putting the ball on the money. Other times he hit simpler, shorter routes in stride. Throws to the sideline and deep weren’t as well placed. He was double clutching some during 7 on 7 drills also. That’s not a very good sign as he may not be trusting what he sees when making his reads.

Scott Tolzien, QB, Wisconsin:

Tolzien had a solid day, but he didn’t do anything that I haven’t seen him do before. He has a bit of a hitch in his throwing motion which negatively affects his timing and it showed on throws to the sideline, especially since he doesn’t have the arm strength to compensate for his slightly slower release. This hurts him as a prospect obviously, but he has solid accuracy and a bit above average arm strength. He could stick as a back-up somewhere, but I don’t expect to see anything this week that will make me think he has a lot of potential as a starter.

Jerrod Johnson, QB, Texas A&M:

It was the same old Johnson today. His throwing motion has been cleaned up, but it still has a hitch in it when he brings his arm back. It isn’t obvious on easy throws to the flat, but on throws downfield and to the sideline it is pretty hard to miss. Additionally his passes don’t have much zip on them despite his size and ability to throw the ball far downfield. His ball placement was not good today and not all of his spirals were tight spirals. He also seemed to struggle with reading defenses a bit, he took too long to scan the field and come back to his check down in my opinion. I wasn’t impressed with him before and I’m not sure I will be any more impressed with him after this week.

Halfbacks:

Da’Rel Scott, RB, Maryland:

Scott had an ok day but didn’t look like anything special to me. He looked tentative when he was running and didn’t seem to find lanes to run as fast as other backs I had seen today. Not sure how good his vision is for that reason.

Vai Taua, RB, Nevada:

Taua had an ok day as a runner but he dropped a pass or two that I saw which you don’t want to see.

Alex Green, RB, Hawaii:

Green looked pretty good, had some burst. He dropped a pass but it was thrown with some mustard on it, still should have caught it since it hit him in the hands. I wasn’t too impressed with Scott or Taua, so he was the most impressive back today on the West squad to me.

Wide Receivers:

Ryan Whalen, WR, Stanford:

Whalen didn’t drop a ball all day that I saw. He caught a couple balls away from his body and also caught some up against his body, but he never dropped one. He also got vertical more than any receiver did today on either squad, catching three balls for nice chunks of yardage in the West practice. He looks like a solid possession receiver in the pros to me. He runs pretty well too.

Anthony Parker, WR, Calgary:

Parker was one guy I wanted to watch because I had never seen him play before, and I definitely came away impressed. He has pretty good size and has definitely been in the weight room because he was one of the bigger receivers in that aspect. He adjusted to the ball well, caught the ball well with his hands, and also had some nice route running and burned #7 on a double move I believe. I don’t think he got the ball, but later in the practice he got held by a corner to make sure he didn’t create too much separation. He had a really good practice.

Armon Binns, WR, Cincinnati:

I have been skeptical of Binns for a while but he had a good practice. He’s tall and kind of skinny like Toliver, but he also showed good hands today. He made a couple of nice catches away from his body, one with his long arms fully extended to make the catch on a throw towards the sideline. He has long arms and good hands, plus he is tall. He strikes me as a potentially good receiver, but I haven’t paid enough attention to his route running yet. He definitely had a good practice catching the ball though.

Aldrick Robinson, WR, SMU:

I was impressed with Robinson today. I hadn’t seen him play much so I was definitely looking out for him and he impressed me. He caught the ball well with his hands multiple times, I don’t think I saw him drop one today. He has good speed and even though he is undersized I was very impressed with him. I like his potential as a slot receiver and because of his size he is flying a bit under the radar.

Tight Ends:

Jordan Cameron, TE, USC:

Cameron had a solid practice. I didn’t see him much as a blocker, but he had a nice catch from a receiving standpoint. I haven’t seen him at all so I need to pay attention to him this week.

Virgil Green, TE, Nevada:

I haven’t seen Green play much and I didn’t see him targeted much today, but he laid out for a ball that was overthrown to the sideline. The cool thing about that is they weren’t wearing pads (or helmets for that matter, which was frankly kind of concerning since they were going full speed without hitting at times) and they were playing on carpet in the hotel ballroom… so he was diving knowing he was almost certainly going to get carpet burn. I wrote in my notes “Virgil Green just laid out for a ball without a helmet on and on carpet… Bad ass.”

Defensive Linemen:

Karl Klug, DT, Iowa:

Klug looked great in practice today. He was very disruptive and showed good hand usage and a very nice swim move which he used three or four times to get into the backfield quickly. He even beat Barksdale off the edge, which says something about Barksdale to be honest.

Linebackers:

Dontay Moch, OLB, Nevada:

Moch weighed in at only 229 which was kind of a disappointment, but I am not sold on him in coverage yet. He has great speed but I am not sure how well he changes direction yet, though he didn’t look as uncomfortable as Chris Carter in coverage today. His best attribute is definitely his ability as a pass rusher, and a couple times he was effectively blocked by TE’s which isn’t surprising at his weight.

Chris Carter, OLB, Fresno State:

Carter has some ability as a pass rusher but he looked very uncomfortable in coverage today. He didn’t get very deep in his drops and looked uncomfortable in space. I think he is going to have to be a rotational DE in a 4-3 because I’m not sure he’s good enough in coverage to play in a 3-4.

Defensive Backs:

Shiloh Keo, SS, Idaho:

I dont have many notes on Keo, but he did make a nice interception on a Jerrod Johnson pass that was not very well thrown (it was in the air a while) but he made a nice play on the ball and came away with the pick.

Again, I apologize for the lack of offensive and defensive line notes. I’ll definitely have more for you guys on the defensive side of the ball tomorrow. Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed it and keep coming back for more updates throughout the week!

–Tom