West Roster Notes:

Quarterbacks:

Chandler Harnish (Northern Illinois) had an up and down day today. He showed that he could make stick throws on one hand, but also missed high some today and threw a pick 6 to Tank Carder in the two minute drill late in practice. He’s still the #2 quarterback in St. Petersburg in my eyes, but he didn’t have a great day today. I talked to him on the phone tonight and he told me that there is a fine line between being too aggressive and being willing to take a shot or throw into a tight window. He mentioned taking snaps from under center and learning to go through progressions as things he has been working on this week, and I think that he has made progress this week. He has made mistakes, but I think he has gotten better and learned from his mistakes. Dan Persa (Northwestern) may have had his best day of practice today, but he looked good today. He might have the best ball velocity of all three quarterbacks on the West, though it wouldn’t be by much. His height hurts him but he is a gamer and has quality intangibles. He will get a shot in camp, I’m just not sure he will be able to stick.

Running Backs:

I continue to like what I have seen from Bobby Rainey (Western Kentucky) and I am excited to see how he does on Saturday. One guy I was impressed with today was Marc Tyler (Southern Cal). There weren’t any practices with full pads this week, so it was tough to get a great feel for the running backs, but Tyler is finally healthy and he looked faster than he did on tape to me. He’s caught the ball better every day this week and seems to have pretty soft hands. He has impressed me the last couple days, but I’m excited to see him run through contact on Saturday.

Wide Receivers:

Jarius Wright (Arkansas) and Devon Wylie (Fresno State) continue to lead this group. They’ve both helped themselves this week, but Wylie has definitely opened more eyes I think. Unfortunately Junior Hemingway (Michigan) seems to have suffered a hamstring injury and may not be able to play in the game on Saturday. Here’s hoping his injury heals up and he is able to go. Greg Childs (Arkansas) has had a solid week and the defensive players I have talked to have been impressed with him. I’m still not sure if he is 100%, but I will know more after I get to talk to him at length in an interview.

Offensive Line:

Brandon Brooks (Miami Ohio) continued his strong play today. He still looks like the top offensive line prospect in St. Petersburg. DaJohn Harris told me he thinks he’s the only lineman who hasn’t lost a one on one battle this week.

Defensive Line:

Dominique Hamilton (Missouri) continues to display his strength and power, but he stood up too much out of his stance for my liking today. But he has the potential to play at the nose in a 4-3 or MAYBE in a 3-4 as well as a 5 technique. He’s been strong all week, but I’m ready to see him in the game on Saturday.

When I spoke to DaJohn Harris he spoke highly of teammate Justin Francis (Rutgers) saying he has a non-stop motor that impressed him. I’ve noticed Francis’ motor as well and I think it might help him stick on a NFL roster.

Linebackers:

Tank Carder (TCU) had a pick 6 today and continues to play well in coverage but his lack of physicality has been very apparent this week. Obviously they haven’t been in pads and haven’t been tackling, but he has struggled to shed blocks and has stayed blocked too often. Brandon Marshall (Nevada) has looked good as well, and I believe he had an interception today. He may not be flashy, but he’s a reliable football player.

Defensive Backs:

I still believe Shaun Prater (Iowa) is the top corner on the West roster and the second best corner in St. Petersburg this week. He has pretty good footwork and good hips. I like something about Rodney McLeod (Virginia) as well. He’s got good feet and hips and I think he has some developmental potential as a corner. He hasn’t had a great work of practice, but I think he has tools that a coach can work with.

