Quarterbacks:

-Tyler Hansen, QB, Colorado: 6’0”, 215 pounds, 4.78 40 yard dash
-Hansen is a very average prospect and is definitely on the less talented roster as far as quarterbacks are concerned. He had the best season of his career by far this year with 2,883 passing yards, a 56.3 completion percentage (his career best was 68.3% the previous year on fewer attempts) and had a career high for touchdowns and interceptions by posting 20 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. He also offers value as a runner thanks to his athleticism and he totaled 115 yards and 3 touchdowns rushing this season. I’m not a fan of Hansen but getting an invite to this game is a chance for him to improve his stock from a near certain undrafted free agent to a possible 7th round pick or maybe a little bit higher. He doesn’t have NFL size which will hurt him, but I would expect him to measure in at 6’0”. He’s always had a solid arm, but his accuracy has been a problem throughout his career. It will be interesting to see how far he has progressed since two years ago but I am not expecting a whole lot.

-Chandler Harnish, QB, Northern Illinois: 6’2”, 220 pounds, 4.72 40 yard dash
-Harnish is a solid quarterback that has plenty of starting experience and an impressive resume of production and success as the NIU signal caller. He doesn’t have great size or arm strength but he is a powerful runner who can pick up yardage with his legs. His arm strength is above average and he has above average accuracy in my opinion, but I’m not sold on him having much upside as a NFL starter. This week will be big for him because his grade seems to vary from a 4th round range all the way to a 6th round range, so having a good week in front of scouts will help him establish himself as a 4th-5th round developmental prospect. He has tools, I just don’t think there is a vast amount of improvement left for him to achieve, making me wonder how much upside is there.

-Dan Persa, QB, Northwestern: 5’11”, 210 pounds, 4.63 40 yard dash
-Persa is an interesting quarterback. I personally think there are a few senior quarterbacks that could have replaced Ryan Lindley at this game aside from Persa such as Dominique Davis, Patrick Witt, Aaron Corp or maybe even Case Keenum. However, Persa has been a very productive player at Northwestern and has a good shot here to either get himself picked up as a priority free agent or possibly to get drafted in the very late portion of the draft. He has thrown 32 touchdowns and only 11 interceptions over the past two seasons while amassing 10 more touchdowns rushing (though 9 of them came as a junior). His height will be a detriment to him and I’m not sure he has enough arm talent to convince teams to take a chance on him like Russell Wilson does. However, this week is a chance for him to prove that he does, and I do like his intangibles. It will be fun to see him in person, so hopefully he has a good week and helps his stock.

Running Backs:

- Marc Tyler, RB, Southern California: 5’10”, 230 pounds, 4.59 40 yard dash
-Tyler is a guy that I was never very impressed with at Southern Cal. He’s had problems getting nicked up and missing time with injuries in his career, and while he was a highly touted recruit he never really lived  up to the hype even when he was given plenty of opportunity to do so over the last two seasons. He was replaced by Curtis McNeal as the full time back later in the season and he seized the opportunity finishing with 1,005 rushing yards and 6 touchdowns once he finally started to get carries. But because McNeal was getting the lions-share of the carries (double digit carries for the last 7 games, never had under 86 yards rushing) that left Marc Tyler in a reserve role which limited his production and hurt his stock. I’m not expecting a lot from Tyler but if he could stay healthy he could possibly find a place in the NFL. I’m anxious to see how healthy he is for this week because a lot of the times I have watched him he’s been nicked up or slowed by something. This is a big week for him so hopefully he has a good week, but he’s not high on my RB rankings.

Wide Receivers:

-Greg Childs, WR, Arkansas: 6’3”, 217 pounds, 4.56 40 yard dash
-Childs is a guy that I think is going to help his stock without a doubt this week. He suffered a serious injury last year at which point he was Ryan Mallett’s go-to guy at receiver and he was not healthy the entire year until possibly Arkansas’ bowl game. He should be 100% now though and that means he is going to have every opportunity to remind people why he was so highly thought of last season before his injury. He isn’t a burner but he can stretch teams vertically due to his size and length, he has very reliable hands and is practically an automatic 3rd down conversion machine. He provides value as a 3rd down receiver and as a red zone threat for this reason, and even if he can’t display much potential beyond that I think it will help his stock and get him drafted. He has upside but he is also very reliable which makes me wonder why he is projected so low by so many people. I usually prescribe to the saying “the tape don’t lie” but Childs is one of the exceptions to that rule. The tape he has from this year is of him at much less than 100%, and being able to see him in person when he should be close or at 100% is something I am very excited about.

-Junior Hemingway, WR, Michigan: 6’1”, 222 pounds, 4.54 40 yard dash
-Hemingway was a highly touted coming out of high school but never lived up to the expectations of him at Michigan, largely because of poor quarterback play. Hemingway has solid size but he looks very slow when he’s running routes and attempting to get vertical. I thought he was a tight end at first because he looked so slow. Regardless, he has shown some talent and has a chance to help improve his stock, but if he doesn’t show more speed in and out of his breaks as well as reliable hands I think he will hurt his stock this week. He’s got talent, but he’s a fringe draftable prospect at this point and I’m not sure his game translates perfectly to the NFL. Here’s hoping he has a good week though.

-Tyler Shoemaker, WR, Boise State: 6’1”, 212 pounds, 4.50 40 yard dash
-Shoemaker was always stuck lower on the depth chart behind Boise State’s talented wide receivers but he really emerged this season as one of Kellen Moore’s go-to guys as he totaled 62 receptions, 994 yards and 16 touchdowns. He’s a pretty athletic guy and while he isn’t a freak athlete I think he has NFL athleticism and quality hands. He could definitely be a riser this week and I personally think he will end up getting drafted. If he doesn’t I would be shocked if he didn’t end up making a roster.

-Jarius Wright, WR, Arkansas: 5’10”, 180 pounds, 4.34 40 yard dash
-Jarius Wright may be the best prospect at the East-West Shrine Game. I’m very high on him and he’s had a terrific season at Arkansas, so honestly I am baffled that he isn’t at the Senior Bowl with his teammate Joe Adams. Regardless, I am happy that he is at this game so I can get a look at him close up. Personally I think he is the best candidate to play so well this week that he actually merits a late invitation to the Senior Bowl. We’ll see if that prediction comes true, but I think there is a solid chance of that happening. Wright is extremely explosive, he’s very fast and he has quality hands. I think he should end up in the 2nd or 3rd round of the NFL draft and I think the Shrine Game and the combine will both provide a big boost to his draft stock. He’s an impressive athlete but he’s also a very good football player (a better one than Joe Adams, even if he isn’t as explosive as a return man) and I would love to have him on my team if I needed a guy to make plays in the slot and to stretch defenses vertically. I’m high on Wright, so look for him to have a terrific week in St. Pete.

-Gerell Robinson, WR, Arizona State: 6’3”, 222 pounds, 4.58 40 yard dash
-Robinson is the definition of a possession receiver in my opinion. He was by far Brock Osweiler’s favorite target at Arizona State this year and I truly believe his graduation (in addition to the firing of his head coach) pushed Osweiler to declare this year instead of staying for his senior season. I like Robinson but I don’t think he is going to be as significant of a downfield threat in the NFL as he was at Arizona State. He doesn’t have great speed but he does have impressive size and reliable hands. I’ve seen him drop some passes but he has regularly come up with big 3rd down conversions and big catches for Arizona State this season. He’s a late round pick at this point and while I don’t expect him to “wow” a lot of people and boost his stock into the 4th round range I think he has a great shot to solidify himself as a 5th/6th round pick that will be able to stick on a roster and work himself into a contributing role.

Tight Ends:

-Kevin Koger, TE, Michigan: 6’4”, 258 pounds, 4.78 40 yard dash
-Koger is a very underrated TE that was severely underutilized at Michigan thanks to their inconsistent quarterback play their limited number of passing attempts. He’s a quality receiver though and I think he will be a quality NFL player at the position. He only had 23 receptions, 244 yards and 4 touchdowns on the season but I expect him to open some eyes this week because I think he warrants 4th round consideration. Not everyone has him that high, but after this week I think those that underrated him will start to come around.

-George Bryan, TE, North Carolina State: 6’5”, 265 pounds, 5.14 40 yard dash
-Bryan is a big, physical tight end prospect that I have even heard rumblings about moving him to offensive tackle. That’s nothing concrete obviously, but considering his lack of speed and his relatively unimpressive hands that may be on the table at some point. He’s not going to threaten defenses down the seam and he is strictly a possession receiver that will use his large frame to make catches underneath and in traffic. His hands aren’t great though and that worries me, because I think it limits his potential to make catches in traffic. I think he has the potential to stick as a TE, but the potential move to offensive tackle is an interesting one.

-David Paulson, TE, Oregon: 6’3”, 242 pounds, 4.82 40 yard dash
-I am really high on David Paulson and I seem to be one of the few in that respect, but I don’t mind that. He may not be the biggest, the strongest or the fastest but as I have said over and over I value players that make big plays when their teams need them the most. While Paulson doesn’t have a great track record of statistical production and only had 31 receptions, 438 yards and 6 touchdowns this year, but many of those moved the chains and extended drives for Oregon. There are plenty of explosive playmakers on that Ducks roster so Paulson isn’t the primary or secondary target by any means. However, he was the glue guy that Darron Thomas could locate if he needed someone to make a catch and I think that value applies to the NFL. I think Paulson can threaten defenses vertically despite not being a freak athlete and he has very reliable hands. I fully expect him to be a riser this week and I think he definitely deserves to be drafted.

Offensive Tackles:

-Ryan Miller, OT, Colorado: 6’8”, 298 pounds, 5.32 40 yard dash
-Every year or two there seems to be a guy that played offensive guard in college that shows enough ability to kick outside to offensive tackle in the NFL. A couple years ago it was Branden Albert, and this year it seems to be Ryan Miller. Miller obviously doesn’t have a lot of experience playing offensive tackle so that will probably show early in the week. The true litmus test of whether or not he can stick outside at tackle will be if he progresses and improves over the course of the week. If he does then his stock should be boosted considerably because he doesn’t project very well to the inside due to his sheer size. He’s not a stud offensive tackle prospect, but he definitely has developmental potential. I’m excited to see how he does early in the week and how he progresses as he is coached up.

-Al Netter, OT, Northwestern: 6’4”, 310 pounds, 5.26 40 yard dash
-I wrote about Netter and Northwestern in the offseason last year and I was not impressed with Netter at all. I still don’t think he’s a likely NFL Draft pick, but while he demonstrated quality technique in some aspects he really struggled with his hand placements, seemed to be getting away with holding quite often, had poor balance and an awkward kick slide. I haven’t seen him much this year and not many of my thoughts have changed on him, but I am interested to see how he has progressed and how he does this week. He will likely be at right tackle because I don’t think he projects well to the left side at all, but if he can show some improvement then he has a chance to be drafted. Right now I don’t think he will be selected come April.

-Matt Reynolds, OT, Brigham Young: 6’4”, 305 pounds, 5.28 40 yard dash
-Reynolds is a guy that plenty of people were projecting as an early draft pick had he come out last year, but I have always had a much lower grade on him than everyone else. I think he has to move inside to guard first of all, and even then I’m not very high on him. I thought he was a late round pick when I scouted him last season and not a lot has changed for me since then. He has more upside as a guard than he does at tackle, but he bends at the waist at times, isn’t as strong in the run game as I would like, and doesn’t anchor well in pass protection. He has a lot to prove to me this week if he wants me to change my mind on him, because right now he is not a quality NFL prospect in my eyes.

-Tom Compton, OT, South Dakota: 6’6”, 312 pounds, 5.15 40 yard dash
-Compton is an offensive tackle that I’m not very familiar with and I haven’t seen him play before, but having read up on him a bit he is definitely someone I will be watching. He is one of the more talented offensive linemen on the West roster and has a chance to make himself a lot of money with a quality performance this week. I’ll be keeping a close eye on him because he and Miller have a great chance to show what they can do at the offensive tackle spot this week.

Offensive Guards:

-Markus Zusevics, OG, Iowa: 6’5”, 300 pounds, 5.08 40 yard dash
-Zusevics played right tackle at Iowa but I’m not sold on him sticking at that position and it doesn’t seem like many other people are either. I think guard may be the best spot for him, so it will be interesting to see how he does playing inside this week. He could stand to add weight to his frame, and because he isn’t a great athlete I think getting stronger will be necessary for him. His measurements will be important for him, particularly his arm length.

Centers:

-Moe Petru, C, Connecticut: 6’2”, 302 pounds, 5.04 40 yard dash
-Petrus is another experienced center in a class that seems to be full of them. Rarely are center classes as potentially deep as this one is, especially now that Peter Konz has declared to give the center position a 1st round candidate. I am interested to see how Petrus does because he could be a nice 4th-5th round steal for a team that needs a reliable center that can create some push off the ball in the run game. He’s not a stud center, but I think he has a long NFL career in front of him.

