Here is my interview with Akeem Dent, a linebacker from the University of Georgia. Enjoy!

Akeem Dent projects well to the ILB position in a 3-4 defense, and I think he warrants at least late round consideration.

Tom: What was your fondest memory as a Georgia Bulldog?

Akeem: Just being able to play in front of thousands of people week in and week out.

Tom: I’ve watched a lot of tape of you and you fill very well as a run defender, plus you are a tackling machine. What is your secret to being so effective against the run?

Akeem: Just making sure I read my keys. My coach told me you have to pay attention to the small things and all the details, and that starts with reading my keys.

Tom: What do you think is your biggest strength as a player?

Akeem: My willingness to work hard and my will to want to work and get better and to get to the ball as a linebacker.

Tom: What do you think is one thing you might need to work on?

Akeem: You always have to improve on coverage stuff and on pass rushing when I come on blitzes. Those are a couple things that stand out to me as a personal critique.

Tom: How do you think things went in practice for you this week?

Akeem: I feel like I had a chance to compete against a lot of good players and show a couple NFL scouts what I can do and I feel like I got a lot done. But there’s still a lot of work to get done.

Tom: Have you talked with many teams or scouts since you’ve been here?

Akeem: Yeah I’ve met with a number of teams. It’s hard to remember all of them, but I’ve talked to a number of them.

Tom: Who is the toughest player that you played against while you were at Georgia?

Akeem: I played against a lot of guys! It’s tough. Tim Tebow, Cam Newton, practicing against Knowshon (Moreno), A.J. (Green), so I’ve played against a lot of elite players in this conference.

Tom: Who was the toughest player you played against this week?

Akeem: I would say there were a couple guys. Delone Carter, he stands out as a good running back. Graig Cooper from Miami, he’s real solid. A couple offensive lineman, the guy from Clemson (Chris Hairston), he’s pretty good.

Tom: Have any of your fellow linebackers stuck out to you this week?

Akeem: Oh yeah. Greg Lloyd from UCONN, Rolle from Ohio State. I think that all of the linebackers here have done a good job of taking coaching well and just trying to learn.

Tom: Is there anything in particular you have learned from your linebacker coach this week?

Akeem: Just try to be fundamentally sound. Making sure you use proper technique so you’ll be able to make plays and get to the ball.

Tom: Is there anything you want the world to know about you that it might not already know?

Akeem: Just that I’m a Georgia guy, I’m hard working and I’m trying to improve as much as I can.

Tom: Thanks for your time and good luck the rest of the way!

Thanks for reading!

–Tom

