Quarterbacks:

Nathan Enderle, QB, Idaho:

Enderle had a solid day but again struggled with ball placement. He double clutched a bit like he did yesterday, and didn’t come off as overly accurate. He missed Armon Binns twice when he sailed it over his head, and looked uncomfortable in the pocket at times. Struggled to find places to go with the ball, at times because of good coverage and at times he was probably struggling to find the open guy. He has talent worth developing but his ability to place the ball where he wants to has not been there this week.

Halfbacks:

Patrick DiMarco, FB, South Carolina:

DiMarco has shown soft hands this week out of the backfield. I need to see him block this week though I have had a positive impression of him in that aspect. Just need to take some notes on him. I like what I have seen though.

Wide Receivers:

Armon Binns, WR, Cincinnati:

Binns has good size and long arms, seems to have reliable hands as well. He caught a touchdown at the end of a two minute drill. He is a long strider from what I can see and at times he struggles to create separation a bit. He ran a pretty good curl route as far as footwork is concerned but couldn’t create separation against Lindsey. I’m not sure how much burst and quickness he has going in and out of his breaks, which will hurt him as a route runner. I haven’t gotten to see how he does when going over the middle, so hopefully he handles that better this week than Toliver did.

Ryan Whalen, WR, Stanford:

Whalen has not dropped a pass all week that I have seen. If he gets his hand on it he catches it, and he has made some nice grabs. He will catch passes against his body at times, but he also makes nice catches away from his body with his hands. He will sell out for a catch and isn’t afraid of contact. I’m not sure he is any faster than 4.5 in the 40, but he is fundamentally sound and I guarantee he will make a roster.

Anthony Parker, WR, Calgary:

Parker continues to show reliable hands, he hasn’t dropped a ball either that I have seen. He has good size, solid speed and he seems fundamentally sound. He was rounding off some of his breaks a bit today, but he is a draftable player in my opinion. I will be keeping an eye on him all week.

Jeff Maehl, WR, Oregon:

Maehl just looks so skinny to me, but he showed good effort as a run blocker today and has deceptive speed for a guy his size. He has pretty good hands, but dropped a pass over the middle when it seemed like he might have been worried about contact coming. I can’t say it was alligator arms for sure, but it seemed like a possibility.

Aldrick Robinson, WR, Southern Methodist:

Robinson has good hands in my opinion, but he looked like he didn’t have very good top end speed today. I pegged him as about a 4.5 guy, but obviously we will have to wait for the combine to see what he runs (without pads obviously).

Tight Ends:

Jordan Cameron, TE, USC:

Cameron had another good catch today, but I just didn’t have the opportunity to see him blocking much today from the sideline I was on. Cameron seems to have reliable hands however.

Virgil Green, TE, Nevada:

I was pleasantly surprised with what I saw from Green as a blocker today. He has shown pretty soft hands when I have seen him, and he has flashed the ability to drive block in the running game which is something I had not seen him do because I hadn’t watched him play often. I look forward to seeing how he does in this department the rest of the week as well as how well he catches the ball.

Offensive Linemen:

Matthew O’Donnell, OT, Queens (Ontario):

O’Donnell is a huge guy which makes him stick out immediately, but I am not sold on him as a NFL RT. He has pretty slow feet and will have a ton of problems playing with good leverage because of his huge stature. He doesn’t seem to have very good hand usage and ability to sustain blocks either, and has struggled in pass protection thus far in practices in my opinion.

Joseph Barksdale, OT, LSU:

Barksdale has an impressive frame, long arms and he just kind of looks like an offensive tackle. However, he doesn’t have good feet in my opinion and was beaten inside multiple times today. I couldn’t see if it was because he opened his hips up too early, but I think it’s a fair assumption that he was looking for the speed rush and wasn’t ready for the inside rush. I’ve never been a big fan, and though I hear he is a nice guy, I just don’t think he is worth a pick before the 4th or 5th round.

Defensive Linemen:

David Carter, DT, UCLA:

Carter was very disruptive today. He has good size, long arms and showed a nice swim move today. He was disruptive in team drills and looked good in one on one drills when I saw him. He has the perfect size for a 3-4 defense, but has shown the versatility to beat guards inside at tackle. I liked what I saw from him today, and I should have a chance to get an interview with him this week since I talked to him today after practice.

Ryan Winterswyk, DE, Boise State:

Winterswyk is really strong, and uses power moves to get penetration. He has good size, strong arms, hands and has a solid bull rush. He’s tall so he has to work to get leverage, but he doesn’t seem to bend at the waist. He beat Barskdale inside thanks to his strong arms and hand usage in one on ones.

Cheta Ozougwu, DE, Rice:

Ozougwu looks like he has a DE frame. He’s not very tall, but he is pretty filled out. He doesn’t have a lot of edge speed and isn’t very quick off the ball, but he showed some hip flexibility to dip his shoulder to get the edge. He has natural leverage because of his size, and he flashed a spin move to spin off of a block and some solid hand usage to swat away the blocker’s hands when rushing the passer. I don’t think he has a high ceiling as a pass rusher because he isn’t very fast off the ball, but he is a solid player that I think has draftable ability.

Karl Klug, DT, Iowa:

Klug is undersized and doesn’t have very long arms but I still think he is worth a draft pick. He has good hand usage, he uses the swim move well and he gets off blocks despite his shorter arms. He has been disruptive this week and even though he may not be a perfect projection to the next level I think he warrants consideration in the mid-late rounds.

Ted Laurent, DT, Mississippi:

Laurent is a short but squatty player. He showed a solid bull rush and some power. I am going to watch him the rest of the week to see how he holds up against the run, how he is off the ball and what kind of hand usage he has.

Cornerbacks:

Korey Lindsey, CB, Southern Illinois:

I was really impressed with Lindsey today. I don’t think he has much better than 4.5 speed, but he has fluid hips, turns and runs well, looked good in man coverage against Whalen, Parker and Binns. Also looked comfortable in zone coverage and showed good footwork to turn and run, but didn’t do as well when he had to close on plays in front of him. I don’t know how good he will be in man coverage in the NFL, but he looked good against bigger receivers that weren’t as quick, probably because they had comparable speed. I was impressed with him today though and I thought he had a great practice.

Thanks for reading! There will be more to come obviously.

–Tom

